Skip to content

Confessing my Love…

May 6, 2010

for Twitter.

Sounds pretty stupid huh? Maybe even downright pathetic, but sometimes you have to put yourself out there.

Contrary to popular belief, Twitter isn’t about what you are doing, it’s about what you are learning.

A place to spread ideas.

If you follow the right people, you can use it as a customized news feed, meaning: you get to read what the smartest people in your industry are reading. Not bad stuff to know?

Even better, you can join the discussion at the bottom of most articles, and get to know other like minded people who found the article interesting.

But most of you who are reading this probably already know this.

If you haven’t tried Twitter yet, its not about celebrities, or what your friends are doing. Sure you can follow them, but don’t complain to me when you find Twitter not very valuable.

And the name… sure it sounds dumb, but it turns out to be a great barrier to entry for people who don’t “get it.”

Have you found value from Twitter? Love it or hate it, leave a comment below!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 6, 2010 8:57 pm

    Twitter is my utility knife. Often the first place I go to to capture news buzz, check my industry topics, friend updates. Brandon, you’re right – the opportunity to go directly to relevant content and comment in exactly the correct spot. I shorten my learning curve everyday with with Twitter and delicious. Nice summary.

  2. May 6, 2010 10:09 pm

    Utility knife, love the analogy. How long would you say it took you to “get it” Kevin? I’m curious to hear why some people adopt the tool and why others do not.

    I’d love to hear from some people who don’t like the tool, or don’t use it yet… I think I have a book idea coming.

  3. JeremyCroke permalink
    May 7, 2010 8:19 am

    I was frustrated with the usual media outlets, The New York Times, Huffington Post, Facebook, etc. (Not to say they aren’t great sources of news but I found that I was spending a lot of time searching for and even reading articles that weren’t necessarily relevant to my particular interests.) I’ve recently come to accept that my “friends” on Facebook rarely share my interests, beliefs, and values. Then in walks twitter. It allowed me to start following people and creating a dialog with a network of people whom I can “connect” with on local and national issues concerning topics that are relevant to me. (renewable energy, sustainability, local food etc)

Leave a Reply

